SeaWeb’s Seafood Champions finalists were announced yesterday during the opening session of Seafood Summit 2011. The Seafood Summit is internationally recognized as a key forum that inspires productive dialogue designed to help today’s global business leaders, policymakers, producers, scientists and partners in the environmental movement to critically examine the factors influencing progress toward a sustainable seafood market.

SeaWeb’s Seafood Champions are nominated annually and recognize individuals and companies for outstanding leadership in promoting environmentally responsible seafood. The award was established to honor those in the seafood industry whose contributions demonstrate a commitment to innovation that leads to change. Selected from more than 50 nominees, the 2011 Seafood Champion finalists are:

·       Robert Clark, Executive Chef, C Restaurant and

Harry Kambolis, CEO, Kambolis Group, Vancouver, Canada

·       Phil Gibson, Seafood Group Director, Safeway Inc.

California, United States

·       Dune Lankard, Founder & Chairman, Eyak Preservation Council

Alaska, United States

·       Steve Phillips, President and CEO, Phillips Foods and Seafood Restaurant

Maryland, United States

·       Olivier Roellinger, Vice President, Relais & Châteaux

Paris, France

·       Peter Weeden, Chef, Paternoster Chop House

London, United Kingdom

·       Falmouth Fishselling Co.

Cornwall, United Kingdom

·       Pacific Coast Shellfish Growers Association

Olympia, Washington, United States

Melanie Siggs, vice president of sustainable markets for SeaWeb, commended the finalists for their commitment and leadership: “The annual Seafood Champions represent those who have made significant strides in improving practices and awareness of responsibly produced seafood,” said Siggs. “On behalf of those who nominated them and the panel of independent judges, we are delighted to recognize these eight finalists for their significant efforts to ensure responsibility is at the forefront of their activities and businesses. We look forward to presenting the 2011 Seafood Champion Awards at the Boston Seafood Show in March.”